## ELIGIBLE UK RESEARCH ORGANISATIONS

## All UK universities recognised by the UK are eligible to apply for International Science Partnerships Fund.

The following listed **not-for-profit UK research organisations** are also eligible to apply as Lead Institutions under the Newton Institutional Links and Researcher Links Programme<sup>1</sup>.

A full listing of official recognised UK universities can be found here <a href="https://www.gov.uk/check-a-university-is-officially-recognised/recognised-bodies">https://www.gov.uk/check-a-university-is-officially-recognised/recognised-bodies</a>

Please note that where organisations have both for-proft and not-for-profit arms, it must be clear that the grant is benefitting only the not-for-profit arm of the organisation.

- Agri-Food and Biosciences Institute Northern Ireland (AFBI)
- All NHS Trust and NHS hospital research departments
- Animal and Plant Health Agency
- Armagh Observatory
- Arts Council England
- Arts Council of Wales
- Arts Council of Northern Ireland
- Babraham Institute
- Beatson Institute
- NERC British Antarctic Survey
- British Film Institute
- NERC British Geological Survey
- British Institute of International and Comparative Law
- British Library
- British Museum
- British Trust for Ornithology
- CABI (Centre for Agriculture and Bioscience International)
- Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre
- Cancer Research UK institutes
- Carbon Trust (not-for-profit arm only)
- Catapult Centres (<u>www.catapult.org.uk</u>)
- UK Centre for Ecology and Hydrology
- Centre for Environment, Fisheries and Aquaculture (Cefas)
- Chatham House
- Daresbury Laboratory (DL)
- Defence Science and Technology Laboratory (DSTL)
- Diamond Light Source Ltd

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The list includes Public Sector Research Establishments affiliated with UK Government Departments and Research Councils; Independent Research Organisations recognised by Research Councils UK; and research organisations funded by the Scottish Government.

- Earlham Institute (previously The Genome Analysis Centre (TGAC))
- EBI European Bioinformatics Institute
- English Heritage
- European Synchrotron Radiation Facility
- Marine Scotland Science
- Francis Crick Institute
- Game and Wildlife Conservation Trust
- Glasgow School of Art (The)
- Health and Safety Laboratory (HSL)
- HR Wallingford Group Ltd
- Hydrographics Office
- James Hutton Institute
- Imanova Limited
- Imperial War Museum
- Institute for Fiscal Studies
- Institute of Development Studies (IDS)
- Institute of Occupational Medicine
- International Institute for Environment and Development (IIED)
- Isis Innovation
- James Hutton Institute
- John Innes Centre
- MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology
- Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine (LSTM)
- Marine Biological Association
- Marine Management Organisation
- Michael Palin Centre for Stammering Children
- Moredun Research Institute
- Museum of London Archaeology
- National Archives
- National Botanic Garden of Wales
- National Centre for Social Research
- National Galleries of Scotland
- National Gallery
- National Institute for Biological Standards and Control (NIBSC)
- National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE), including NICE International
- National Institute of Agricultural Botany
- National Institute of Economic and Social Research
- National Library of Scotland
- National Museum Wales
- National Museums Liverpool
- National Museums of Scotland
- National Museums Northern Ireland
- National Oceanography Centre (NOC)
- National Parks
- National Physical Laboratory

- National Police Improvement Agency (NPIA)
- National Portrait Gallery
- Natural History Museum
- Overseas Development Institute (ODI)
- Pharmacy Research UK (PRUK)
- Pirbright Institute (formerly Institute for Animal Health)
- Plymouth Marine Laboratories
- Proudman Oceanographic Laboratory
- UK Health Security Agency
- Quadram Institute Bioscience (formerly Institute of Food Research)
- RAND Europe Community Interest Company
- Rothamsted Research
- University of Aberdeen
- Royal Botanic Garden, Edinburgh
- Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew
- Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Scotland Wales
- Royal Museums Greenwich (formerly known as the National Maritime Museum)
- Royal Society for the Protection of Birds
- Rutherford Appleton Laboratory (includes Chilbolton) (RAL) (STFC laboratories)
- Science Museum Group (formerly known as the National Museum of Science and Industry)
- Scotland's Rural College (SRUC)
- Scottish Arts Council
- Scottish Association for Marine Science (SAMS)
- Scottish Institute for Research in Economics (SIRE)
- Sir Alister Hardy Foundation for Ocean Sciences
- Sir John Soane's Museum
- Sport England
- Tate Galleries
- Tavistock Institute
- The Alan Turing Institute
- The Isaac Newton Group of Telescopes (ING)
- The Met Office
- The Open University
- The National Maritime Museum
- The Natural History Museum
- The Sainsbury Laboratory (TSL)
- The Rosalind Franklin Institute
- The Royal Horticultural Society (UK)
- The Victoria and Albert Museum
- The Welding Institute (TWI)
- The Young Foundation
- Transport Research Laboratory
- TWI Ltd (The Welding Institute)
- UK Atomic Energy Authority

- Veterinary Medicines Directorate (VMD)
- Wallace Collection
- Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute
- World Conservation Monitoring Centre
- Zoological Society of London, Institute of Zoology

Should your research organisation not be on this list, please contact us via <u>ukispf@britishcouncil.org</u> before submitting a proposal to this Programme.

In addition to the organisations listed above **all officially recognised UK universities are eligible to apply for funding.** Please refer to the following link for a list of eligible institutions <a href="https://www.gov.uk/check-a-university-is-officially-recognised/recognised-bodies">https://www.gov.uk/check-a-university-is-officially-recognised/recognised-bodies</a>